County GRT Increase Proposed February 09, 2015

Feb 9th, 2015 By: E. Troy Tudor

Doña Ana County commissioners will have a first-reading tomorrow, Tuesday February 10th, of a proposal to raise gross receipts tax rates countywide.

This would be after voters voted down a tax increase for public transit last November and two other increases before that. However, this increase will not go before the voters, it will be decided by our county commissioners.  Gross receipts tax within the city coupled with this new county tax could mean as much as 3/4% in additional taxes for 2015 or approximately $24 million.

Our local economy and our citizens cannot support the continued wave of increases that our federal and local governments continue to place upon us:

  • the next wave of the Affordable Care Act kicks in this year
  • the burden of the increase in the minimum wage
  • the previously mentioned city's GRT tax increase
  • and excessive current and projected impact fees

The county passed a budget that spends $24 million more than they take in for this year; they are talking about spending even more with this additional tax.

The meeting is held in the Commissioners Chamber's at the Motel Blvd County complex and begins at 9:00 a.m.  This agenda item will probably be heard around 10:30.

What can you do -

  • Please engage by showing up or by contacting County Commissioners below and oppose additional taxes.
  • Share this with other concerned citizens and businesses
  • Support the Chamber in our work as the Voice of Business in Southern New Mexico
  • The Chamber will be in attendance and continue to work on your behalf.  Here is a link to tomorrow's agenda.

District 1
Billy G. Garrett
Phone:  (575) 525-5808 (Office)
               (575) 915-5755 (Cell)
Fax:      (575) 525-5948
TDD:     (575) 525-5951

District 2
David J. Garcia
Phone:  (575) 525-5804 (Office)
              (575) 635-5212 (Cell)
Fax:     (575) 525-5948
TDD:     (575) 525-5951

District 3
Benjamin L. Rawson
Phone:  (575) 525-5807 (Office)
              (575) 644-4055 (Cell)
Fax:       (575) 525-2812
TDD:     (575) 525-5951

District 4
Wayne D. Hancock
Phone:  (575) 525-5810 (Office)
               (575) 520-4560 (Cell)
Fax:        (575) 525-5948
TDD:     (575) 525-5951

District 5
Leticia Duarte-Benavidez
Phone:   (575) 525-5809 (Office)
                (575) 635-5146 (Cell)
TDD:      (575) 525-5951