2015 Municipal Election Information

Sep 17th, 2015

Election Calendar

Offices up for election are City Council Districts 1,2,4 currently held by Miguel Silva, Greg Smith and Nathan Small, respectively.

The position of Mayor, now occupied by Ken Miyagishima will also be on the ballot, as will the one for Presiding Municipal Judge Division 1, currently occupied by Melissa Miller-Byrnes

Important dates:

  • September 22 Candidate Filing Day
  • September 29 Candidate Certification & drawing for positions (5 p.m.)
  • October 6 Last day to Register to vote in 2015 Municipal Election. You can vote between 8:00 am and 5:00 pm Monday thru Friday at the Bureau of Elections located in the Doña Ana County Government Center, 845 N. Motel Blvd.
  • October 7-31 Absentee Ballot (paper) Absentee ballots are available by calling the City Clerk’s office at 575/541-2115 to request an application. The application will be mailed out. Once the application is verified, a ballot will be sent to the requestor by mail. Dates for absentee voting are Oct, 7, thru Oct. 31. Absentee ballots must be received in the City Clerk’s office prior to 7 p.m. on Nov. 3, 2015.
  • October 7-31 In Person Absentee/ Early voting at the Las Cruces City Clerk’s office located on the first floor of City Hall, 700 N. Main St. Early voting hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday thru Friday.
  • October 17, 24, 31 Saturday In Person Absentee/Early voting at City Clerk’s Office 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
  • October 30 Last day to mail absentee ballots from Clerk’s Office
  • November 3 ELECTION DAY

On Election Day, voters can cast ballots at any one of 14 Voting Convenience Centers located throughout Las Cruces. Voters are no longer restricted to voting in the district in which they are registered. Voting Convenience Centers at the following locations will be open from 7:00 am to 7:00 pm:

1. Branigan Library, 200 E. Picacho Ave.
2. Doña Ana County Government Center, 845 N. Motel Blvd.
3. East Mesa Recreation Center, 5589 Porter Dr.
4. Frank O'Brien Papen Center, 304 W. Bell Ave.
5. Good Samaritan Village, 3011 Buena Vida Cir.
6. Henry Benavidez Center, 1045 McClure St.
7. Meerscheidt Recreation Center,1600 E. Hadley Ave.
8. Doña Ana Community College - East Mesa Branch, 2800 Sonoma Ranch Blvd.
9. Munson Center, 975 S. Mesquite St.
10. Rehabilitation Hospital of Southern New Mexico, 4441 E. Lohman Ave.
11. Newman Center, 2615 S. Solano Dr.
12. Highland Elementary, 4201 Emerald St.
13. Jornada Elementary, 3400 Elks
14. Desert Hills Elementary, 280 Roadrunner Pkwy

. More information available at las-cruces.org, then click on Voter Information.